Page 1 of 2

avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 1:25 pm
by UlrichMaassen
I am going to buy flowcode but discovered a nasty error after some times it worked well.

Projekt is set to Arduino Uno, ComPort 6.
Device: ARD.ATMEGA.ATMEGA328P
Generated by: Flowcode v9.0.0.23

After compile to target i get allways the same errormessages:


C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\avrv5\batchfiles\avrc_arduinoA.bat m328p arduino 115200 "C:\Users\Anwender64\Documents\FlowCode\Flowcode1.hex"

C:\Users\Anwender64\Documents\FlowCode>"C:\PROGRA~2\Flowcode\Common\COMPIL~1\avrv5\BATCHF~1\..\bin\avrdude.exe" -p m328p -P 115200 -b "C:\Users\Anwender64\Documents\FlowCode\Flowcode1.hex" -c arduino -D -U flash:w:""

avrdude.exe: invalid baud rate specified 'C:\Users\Anwender64\Documents\FlowCode\Flowcode1.hex'

Even sometimes another error is shown:
avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\COM6"


It seemed that there is something wrong in the batch file or with Arvrdude.

The pc comport itself is working well witch I tested with external terminal program.
After the error I deleted Flowcode and the Arduino drivers as well as Avrdude from harddisk and cleard up the registry.
After new installation the same error is there.

By the way why is there no Arduino in the compiler options?
Only AVRISPII, E-Blocks and USBTiny are there.

Need Your help
Ulrich

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 2:05 pm
by BenR
Hello Ulrich,

This is a known bug and we have fixed it in the next pending update of Flowcode.

To solve the problem go into the Build -> Project Options menu and at the bottom right of the window click on the com port setting and assign your COM port. Even if it already looks selected it might not be so make sure you click the setting and assign the port.

Click OK and then compile to chip should then work correctly.

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 2:35 pm
by UlrichMaassen
Thank you but it does not help anyway.

Still getting error

avrdude.exe: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\COM6"

or

avrdude.exe: stk500_recv(): programmer is not responding
avrdude.exe: stk500_getsync() attempt 8 of 10: not in sync: resp=0x00

As allready mentioned the comport 6 is working well with an external terminal program.

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 3:08 pm
by BenR
Hello,

Please make sure the terminal program has closed the port before you try programming.

avrdude.exe: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\COM6"

Means the programmer cannot open the port because it's already open in something else.

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 3:10 pm
by LeighM
If Ben's advice does not fix the issue, next could you please try the attached.
Rename the file to avrc_arduinoA.bat and replace the one here ...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\avrv5\batchfiles

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 5:05 pm
by UlrichMaassen
Thank you, terminal program is of cause always closed after use :)

But in the meantime I solved the problem so far.

I do have a great bunch of different Arduino Uno and Nano boards.
I switched to some other uno boards from different suppliers.
About 50% of them do work with flowcode or the Arduino IDE, the others fail or work only sometimes.
Some with 16U2 converters on board work others not.
The same with CH340 converters.
Very strange that all of the boards do well with external terminal program.
I seems to be a big driver problem but not your fault.

I will investigate further in the driver problem.

Best regards
Ulrich

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 10:44 am
by Pagkat
I'm having this same problem, using an "Arduino Uno", "Arduino Micro" and "Arduino Leonardo". They all give the same errors, sometimes the log below and sometimes the "invalid baud rate" error. Maybe there is something wrong with my compiler options?

Code: Select all

HEX file creation successful!
Using <Arduino> user settings for programmer
Launching the programmer...
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\avr\batchfiles\avrc_arduinoA.bat  m328p stk500 com5 115200  "test 1.0.hex"
C:\Users\jef_d\OneDrive\00 Pagkat\2021 01 - GameCode\03 Software\V4 - AVR\0 - Testen arduino compatibel board>"C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\avr\batchfiles\..\bin\avrdude.exe" -pm328p -Pcom5 -b115200 -cstk500 -D -Uflash:w:"test 1.0.hex"                      
avrdude.exe: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\com5": Toegang geweigerd.
avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.
Error returned from [avrdude]
C:\Program Files (x86)\Flowcode\Common\Compilers\avr\batchfiles\avrc_arduinoA.bat reported error code 0x1
Autoclose turned off
FINISHED

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:56 pm
by LeighM
Could you check your Flowcode version is up to date, use the "? About" button, top right.
And check you have done a "Full Database" update from the "Library Updates" button

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 6:11 pm
by Pagkat
Hi LeightM

I'm using V9.1.0.27 with full up-to-date database. The Arduino's are working, tested with the Arduino IDE.

Could you tell me what compiler options I should use?

Re: avrdude: invalid baud rate specified

Posted: Thu Apr 22, 2021 6:41 pm
by LeighM
Do you know what the baud rate should be for your devices?
Some clones do vary.
Perhaps the Arduino IDE has more variants support than we have at present?