ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Moderator: Benj
Forum rules
Only feature requests will be considered here. General questions should not be posted in this forum.
Only feature requests will be considered here. General questions should not be posted in this forum.
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
hi
my first step in this was first time wrong too..
hint,
i have made the connection MOSI MISO wrong
after i change ( cross ) the cable - the LED blinked
perhabs it helps
best wishes
rudi
pic18F2550 i will test next times too
( think this weekend )
my first step in this was first time wrong too..
hint,
i have made the connection MOSI MISO wrong
after i change ( cross ) the cable - the LED blinked
perhabs it helps
best wishes
rudi
pic18F2550 i will test next times too
( think this weekend )
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
It will probably work. I only connected:
Vdd
GND
SI
SO
SCK (I also tried to swith to CLK)
CS
The other pins, will not be used? What about the WOL pin for example?
Thanks.
Vdd
GND
SI
SO
SCK (I also tried to swith to CLK)
CS
The other pins, will not be used? What about the WOL pin for example?
Thanks.
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
i changed to PIC24FJ256GB106hyperion007 wrote:It will probably work. I only connected:
Vdd
GND
SI
SO
SCK (I also tried to swith to CLK)
CS
The other pins, will not be used? What about the WOL pin for example?
Thanks.
i have set the clock speed in project from ..140 000 000 to 4 000 000
config3= 0xffff
config2= 0xffbf // .. normally 0x43be but i will post so..
config1= 0x7f7f
cal_spi ( will update oi change in Panel..so i post only status )
Channel : Channel1
MOSI : G.8
MISO: G.7
CLK: G.6
SS: ( unconnected )
Prescale: Fosc/4
Clock Polarity: Idle Low
Clock Phase: Trailing Edge
Sample Point: End
Panel..
SPI Settings
Chip Select: D.8
Channel : Channel1
MOSI : G.8
MISO: G.7
CLK: G.6
Prescale: Fosc/4
connected
MOSI
MISO
CLK
CS
Vdd
GND
Best wishes
rudi
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Ok, so SCK/SCL (Can't remember what was printed on the module) is not to be used and I should use CLK instead. got it. Will try when I get home. I don't have any 16 Bit MCU that I can try it on so I have to stick with the PIC18F4550
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
connected
MISO (Master In Slave Out) - The Slave line for sending data to the master,
MOSI (Master Out Slave In) - The Master line for sending data to the peripherals,
SCK (Serial Clock) - The clock pulses which synchronize data transmission generated by the master
and one line specific for every device:
SS (Slave Select) - the pin on each device that the master can use to enable and disable specific devices.
if description is SDI ... SDO
the cross:
Master output for Slave Input MOSI <<__SDO
Master Input for Slave Output MISO <<__SDI
or
if description MOSI MOSI and MISO MISO
then
The SPI bus specifies four logic signals:
* SCLK : Serial Clock (output from master).
* MOSI : Master Output, Slave Input (output from master).
* MISO : Master Input, Slave Output (output from slave).
* SS : Slave Select ([[logic level|active low]], output from master).
Alternative naming conventions are also widely used, and SPI port pin names for particular IC products may differ from those depicted in these illustrations:
* SCLK : SCK, CLK.
* MOSI : SIMO, SDO (for master devices), SDI(for slave devices), DO, DOUT, SI, MTSR.
* MISO : SOMI, SDO (for slave devices ), SDI(for master devices), DI, DIN, SO, MRST.
* SS : nCS, CS, CSB, CSN, nSS, STE, SYNC.
The MOSI/MISO convention requires that, on devices using the alternate names, SDI on the master be connected to SDO on the slave, and vice versa. Chip select polarity is rarely active high, although some notations (such as SS or CS instead of nSS or nCS) suggest otherwise. Slave select is used instead of an addressing concept.
best wishes
rudi
Code: Select all
MOSI .. G.8 < - SDO
MISO .. G.7 > - SDI
CLK .. G.6(SCK) - CLK
CS .. D.8 . CS
Vdd ..
GND ..
MOSI (Master Out Slave In) - The Master line for sending data to the peripherals,
SCK (Serial Clock) - The clock pulses which synchronize data transmission generated by the master
and one line specific for every device:
SS (Slave Select) - the pin on each device that the master can use to enable and disable specific devices.
if description is SDI ... SDO
the cross:
Master output for Slave Input MOSI <<__SDO
Master Input for Slave Output MISO <<__SDI
or
if description MOSI MOSI and MISO MISO
then
- Master | Slave
MOSI .. MOSI
MISO .. MISO
The SPI bus specifies four logic signals:
* SCLK : Serial Clock (output from master).
* MOSI : Master Output, Slave Input (output from master).
* MISO : Master Input, Slave Output (output from slave).
* SS : Slave Select ([[logic level|active low]], output from master).
Alternative naming conventions are also widely used, and SPI port pin names for particular IC products may differ from those depicted in these illustrations:
* SCLK : SCK, CLK.
* MOSI : SIMO, SDO (for master devices), SDI(for slave devices), DO, DOUT, SI, MTSR.
* MISO : SOMI, SDO (for slave devices ), SDI(for master devices), DI, DIN, SO, MRST.
* SS : nCS, CS, CSB, CSN, nSS, STE, SYNC.
The MOSI/MISO convention requires that, on devices using the alternate names, SDI on the master be connected to SDO on the slave, and vice versa. Chip select polarity is rarely active high, although some notations (such as SS or CS instead of nSS or nCS) suggest otherwise. Slave select is used instead of an addressing concept.
Code: Select all
CLKOUT INT
WOL SO
SI SCK
CS RESET
VCC GND
Code: Select all
MASTER @ SLAVE
MCU - ENC
----------------------
MOSI - SI
MISO - SO
CS - CS
CLK - SCK
VCC
GND
rudi
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
That's exactly how I connected it as I am familiar with the MOSI MISO terminology. But I'll have another go when I get home.
MASTER__|__SLAVE
MCU | ENC
_________|_______
MOSI | SI
MISO | SO
CS | CS
CLK | SCK
The only thing I thought was a bit confusing was that the ENC28J60 module has one pin labled SCK and one pin labled CLK:
MASTER__|__SLAVE
MCU | ENC
_________|_______
MOSI | SI
MISO | SO
CS | CS
CLK | SCK
The only thing I thought was a bit confusing was that the ENC28J60 module has one pin labled SCK and one pin labled CLK:
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
head up, don't give it up.hyperion007 wrote:Still no luck with this, oh well.
your compiling is ok?
because i have a short - extrem short try -
to compile for pic18f2550 but do not -
i have not deeper look to find what 's going wrong.
but this is pi pa fax this will found..
..do you can post your flowchart perhabs?
thank you!
best wishes
rudi
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
sure.
It compiles ok
It compiles ok
- Attachments
-
- ENC28J60_PIC18F4550.fcfx
- (118.77 KiB) Downloaded 600 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
hi thank you,hyperion007 wrote:sure.
It compiles ok
yes yours compile if i run compile ( pic18F4550 )
after change to PIC18F2550 and change the "E2" to disable icon ( PIC18F2550 no E port )
and try to compile - errorlevel 1
but this is not so important now,
will try to find by search at weekend.
you must go on
my pic24 runs..
ok
i write what i think to try to change
i had a look to the Clock Speed, do you need 40 000 000 or can you try run under 4 000 000 this clk i set up for pic24
is the flashing ok at 40 000 000?
The SPI Settings in Panel is this ok that is Software Mode?
Chipselect A.5
MOSI ( SDO ) A.0
MISO ( SDI ) A.1
CLK A.2
is this your connect with the chip?
can you try a Channel Port?
the cal_spi
can you try to uncheck SS ( is connected to A.5 too ) try a unconnected here.
SS Slave Select
i have make 2 Disable Icon in Main
0-> D3
1-> D3
all two i make Disable
í have make 2 Disable icon in Loop too
scroll a little from top to the "Ping Request"
i have Disable
1-> E2
0-> E2
perhabs this helps
last but not least, controll again the connects between MOSI und MISO
i have make this wrong in first try ...
Best wishes
rudi
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
I have tried both hardware channel 1 SPI and software, tried switching MISO/MOSI on both, I have tried CS on other pins than A5 but I thought I would try A5 as well. No difference.
No worries, I can wait for the component. I'm sure it will be more clear to me how it all works then as it is quite confusing as it is right now with remapped pins and SPI pins in a big mess
No worries, I can wait for the component. I'm sure it will be more clear to me how it all works then as it is quite confusing as it is right now with remapped pins and SPI pins in a big mess
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Pic18F2550
i had disabled the icon D3 and E2..
this was not helped. perhabs a refresh mistake in code ..
after delete this it compile for PIC18F2550
i will test later the connection with ENC and will update the info
many txs again!
best wishes
rudi
edit:
i will wait for the icon for pic18 too
the pic18F2550 runs, if ping, then LED is flash but the answere do not come.
but i will go on at weekend this again. perhabs a little shake
my head is at the wifi modules - hope this will come asap.
i had disabled the icon D3 and E2..
this was not helped. perhabs a refresh mistake in code ..
after delete this it compile for PIC18F2550
i will test later the connection with ENC and will update the info
many txs again!
best wishes
rudi
edit:
i will wait for the icon for pic18 too
the pic18F2550 runs, if ping, then LED is flash but the answere do not come.
but i will go on at weekend this again. perhabs a little shake
my head is at the wifi modules - hope this will come asap.
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Hello,
I've made some progress with the component and generated some examples. Need to do a client example to make it complete so I will try and get this done ASAP.
Note I have not tested these so will likely be testing over the weekend. Fingers crossed it all should work
I'll also try and make a web server example that collects data from an SD card as this would be a very nice implementation of an embedded web server and means the micro doesn't have to store any of the HTML data.
The component is still not as clean as I would like but I'm worried about restricting possibilities if I take too much of the complexity away. As long as there are working examples it should be pretty much ok.
For PIC you will need to adjust the Buffer Size property to 255 or less.
I connect up the following pins and leave all the other pins disconnected.
VCC -> 3V3
Reset -> Reset Pin
GND -> GND
SCK -> SPI SCK
SO -> SPI MISO
SI -> SPI MOSI
CS -> SPI CS
To do this cleanly I used a 10-way IDC connector on a modified E-blocks ribbon cable and this allows me to connect the module right onto a port without the need for veroboard etc. I'll post a picture if I get time.
I've made some progress with the component and generated some examples. Need to do a client example to make it complete so I will try and get this done ASAP.
Note I have not tested these so will likely be testing over the weekend. Fingers crossed it all should work
I'll also try and make a web server example that collects data from an SD card as this would be a very nice implementation of an embedded web server and means the micro doesn't have to store any of the HTML data.
The component is still not as clean as I would like but I'm worried about restricting possibilities if I take too much of the complexity away. As long as there are working examples it should be pretty much ok.
For PIC you will need to adjust the Buffer Size property to 255 or less.
I connect up the following pins and leave all the other pins disconnected.
VCC -> 3V3
Reset -> Reset Pin
GND -> GND
SCK -> SPI SCK
SO -> SPI MISO
SI -> SPI MOSI
CS -> SPI CS
To do this cleanly I used a 10-way IDC connector on a modified E-blocks ribbon cable and this allows me to connect the module right onto a port without the need for veroboard etc. I'll post a picture if I get time.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
I have tried the Ping program on my PIC18F4550 but no go. I can't get the two LEDs to show link/activity and I've connected it as per the instructions, tried switching the MISO/MOSI around, nothing. Tried swapping SCK to CLK and all combinations but still nothing.
Am I doing anything wrong in the settings?
Edit: I did try to put a blinking LED in the main loop but no go, so I think it gets stuck at the initialize macro at the top.
Am I doing anything wrong in the settings?
Edit: I did try to put a blinking LED in the main loop but no go, so I think it gets stuck at the initialize macro at the top.
- Attachments
-
- ENC28J60_PIC18F4550.fcfx
- (6.92 KiB) Downloaded 464 times
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Cheers I'll check it out.
Have you tried using the software mode for the SPI at all?
Have you tried using the software mode for the SPI at all?
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
I've rigged up a 8-bit PIC ECIO to the module and I can get the LEDs to flash as expected but then nothing else seems to be working.
I powered the module at 3V3 but the I/O pins are connected directly supplying 5V. According to the datasheet I think this is ok and the flashing LEDs seem to confirm this.
I also tried the dsPIC with a buffer size of 255 and this worked fine so it's not the buffer size that is causing problems.
I will investigate.
I powered the module at 3V3 but the I/O pins are connected directly supplying 5V. According to the datasheet I think this is ok and the flashing LEDs seem to confirm this.
I also tried the dsPIC with a buffer size of 255 and this worked fine so it's not the buffer size that is causing problems.
I will investigate.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
I'm using software SPI on the ECIO and have managed to get the Ping working and the Webserver partially working by using the component debugger window.
Clicking expose full component tree on the comp debugger. Then selecting the CAL SPI component from the drop down list on the top of the properties window. Finally setting the "Sample Point" property from "End" to "Middle".
I'd be interested to see how hardware SPI is behaving but I'm guessing this is currently causing the hardware lockup you mentioned. Could be that software SPI on an 8-bit PIC is too slow to work reliably for full webserver applications.
Clicking expose full component tree on the comp debugger. Then selecting the CAL SPI component from the drop down list on the top of the properties window. Finally setting the "Sample Point" property from "End" to "Middle".
I'd be interested to see how hardware SPI is behaving but I'm guessing this is currently causing the hardware lockup you mentioned. Could be that software SPI on an 8-bit PIC is too slow to work reliably for full webserver applications.
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
I only used 3.3V for all pins. The pic is using the same power supply as well. I didn't even get the LEDs to light up
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Here is my program and my connections.
Reset - RB3
CS - RB7
SI - RB6
SO - RB1
SCK - RB2
CLK - Unconnected
NT - Unconnected
WOL - Unconnected
VCC - 3V3
GND - GND
Reset - RB3
CS - RB7
SI - RB6
SO - RB1
SCK - RB2
CLK - Unconnected
NT - Unconnected
WOL - Unconnected
VCC - 3V3
GND - GND
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
- Benj
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 15312
- Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 10:48 am
- Location: Matrix TS Ltd
- Has thanked: 4803 times
- Been thanked: 4314 times
- Contact:
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Also I just noticed that the standard 18F4550 won't run at 48MHz (12MIPs) at 3V3, the lowest voltage it seems the standard chip will run at all is 4.2V.
Could this be something to do with the issue do you think?
Could this be something to do with the issue do you think?
Regards Ben Rowland - MatrixTSL
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
Flowcode Product Page - Flowcode Help Wiki - Flowcode Examples - Flowcode Blog - Flowcode Course - My YouTube Channel
-
- Posts: 528
- Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 1:23 pm
- Location: Sweden
- Has thanked: 49 times
- Been thanked: 101 times
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
That's strange odd. I didn't know this and have been running 48Mhz and 3.3V for about a year on all my projects that I usually test out on a few PIC18F4550 standard DIP40 chips
I really should try this on some other hardware because I rarely use 5V anymore as most other ICs tend to use 3.3V or lower. I'll try using it on 5V on this PIC and also 3.3V on a PIC18F28K80. Will keep you posted.
I really should try this on some other hardware because I rarely use 5V anymore as most other ICs tend to use 3.3V or lower. I'll try using it on 5V on this PIC and also 3.3V on a PIC18F28K80. Will keep you posted.
Re: ENC28J60 Ethernet LAN
Hello.
After a missing period I went back to work tcc college project.
I want to turn on and off an LED through the internet with android.O my project uses the ip 192.168.1.90 , I used the examples that Rudi put , but can not receive the command from the comparator in the project, the command that I try to send the android for pic ( http://192.168.1.90:81/Led1 On) I see that the command is received by the pic I'm using , I would like some help from more knowledgeable of Flowcode .
Send the flowchart to analizarem where they are wrong. I really want to make it work .
After a missing period I went back to work tcc college project.
I want to turn on and off an LED through the internet with android.O my project uses the ip 192.168.1.90 , I used the examples that Rudi put , but can not receive the command from the comparator in the project, the command that I try to send the android for pic ( http://192.168.1.90:81/Led1 On) I see that the command is received by the pic I'm using , I would like some help from more knowledgeable of Flowcode .
Send the flowchart to analizarem where they are wrong. I really want to make it work .
- Attachments
-
- App Of Android.jpg
- image android app
- (302.17 KiB) Downloaded 1889 times
-
- automation_via_the_Internet.fcfx
- flowchart
- (16.86 KiB) Downloaded 449 times