Page 11 of 19

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2023 8:59 pm
by chipfryer27
Hi

Stepping through simulation doesn't show up anything obvious and the 31 character CSV seems to be created.

One thing I noticed, and I'm a bit unsure about is your MMA8452. The component shows it connected to Ch2 (D0 / D1 as you mention), but it also shows it is remapped to C0 / C1. That's probably why it isn't working in HW. You can't appear to disable remap so just set remap for D0 / D1(effectively making remap irrelevant). Try this and see what happens.

There will be inherent delays in the chart due to the time taken to obtain and process data. Do remember that components may wait for a reply before timeout, so if they cannot reach the target then increased delays are to be expected.

I think you are very close now.

Regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2023 5:52 pm
by SILVESTROS
Hi,
everything is almost ok..delays are related with waiting for reply in some components..I have no data only in 2 var of Data string ...hr and ox from MAX30100...I was checked connections ..ok...in component properties I don't see something ,,,in simulator I have data..sensor is U029 (mouser) that use MAX30100 ...any idea for possible reasons?
regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2023 9:35 pm
by chipfryer27
Hi
I'm travelling just now and can only access the forum by phone, but I will have a look later in week.
Regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2023 4:27 pm
by SILVESTROS
Hi,
I was change MAX30100 module because it works with +5v, with another (CJMCU-30100), more compatible with TX pcb..that has Vd=3.3V.
connections are :
MAX-30100 module sender pcb (PIC18F64K22-CHANNEL1)
VIN--------------------------> +3.3V
GND------------------------> GND
SCL-------------------------> SCL1 pin C3
SDA-------------------------> SDA pin C4
unfortunately I had same result...no data (0,0)..in module schematic, I note that SCL, SDA are in 1,8V level, because Vd of MAX30100 is 1.8V.
is that compatible with 3.3V of sender? can I pull SCL, SDA with Vin? that module is referred that works with arduino in +3.3V , but I wasn't tested. about INTERUPT pin I don't see a connection in properties.
regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2023 9:21 pm
by chipfryer27
Hi

Just got back.

From your post it looks like the Oximeter may not be visible, or not responding.

Medelec35 posted an I2C sniffer, but I can't find it in the WiKi. If I do I'll post a link and it's a great little tool.

When run it "sniffs" out all I2C components it can see, thereby helping to verify everything is as it should be.

I'll try and have a look tomorrow.

Regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2023 9:50 pm
by SILVESTROS
Hi, and thanks.
SDA in oscilloscope , after pulling up ..it seems that FC don't see or don't get values in data...there is no delay in data at terminal...
regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2023 10:03 am
by chipfryer27
Hi

Just a quick thought (and I haven't checked myself) but you mentioned that you are now using a different module. Does it have the same address as the component is looking for?

Regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2023 10:36 am
by SILVESTROS
Hi,
the new module has an address 0x57...old module has the same...how can I check the address matching with component? in MAX30100 component properties there is no set an address..
regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2023 1:00 pm
by chipfryer27
Hi

Did the old Oximeter ever give you a reading in Hardware?

Are you running your PIC at 3.3v too or is it still at 5v?

Are both I2C lines showing activity? Does the Oximeter give any response at all?

It's not uncommon for "clone" hardware to use a different address to the original, which is why I suggested checking with Medelec35's sniffer. You can find a link in this post

viewtopic.php?p=3445#p3445

Run this (change to PIC or the like) with your Oximeter connected and it should tell you the address it is using. If not then there is a connection problem.

Regards

Re: PIC18F25K22 UART ERROR

Posted: Sat Apr 01, 2023 2:06 pm
by medelec35
Hello.
You can use the I2C sniffer/scanner as chipfryer27 has stated, this is the latest version.
If you can't change the address in properties then it will be an address that's not changeable and will be the same for every device.
The datasheet states.

Code: Select all

The MAX30100 slave ID consists of seven fixed bits,
B7–B1 (set to 0b1010111)
0b1010111 = 0x57.
I have just had a look at the component code and is showing an address of 0x51 ,so that is why you are getting nowhere.
I have just changed the address to 0x57 for you to try.
To do that, Browse to this location using file explorer, it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar.

Code: Select all

C:\ProgramData\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\Components
Replace the existing files with the attached file.
If Flowcode is already open, then you will need to reload your project for the new components to work
If you run any component updates, then the components you added will be overwritten.