Is there a discrepancy between WIKI/forum advise installing ESP toolset and Espressif official docs?

For general Flowcode discussion that does not belong in the other sections.
canary_wharfe
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl

Is there a discrepancy between WIKI/forum advise installing ESP toolset and Espressif official docs?

Post by canary_wharfe »

As a total newbie re. ESP32 I have spent the best part of another Tier 4 restricted day reading everything I can find on ESP32 and I think we may have a discrepancy on the advise being offered here re. ESP32S toolset installation and the official word from Espressif.

https://espressif-esp-idf.readthedocs-h ... p32s2.html

Limitations
ESP32-S2 support is currently a preview and does not support all features. Espressif firmware developers are working hard on the remaining support, so please update the master branch regularly to receive the latest code.

The integrated USB OTG peripheral is not supported
Documentation not updated for ESP32-S2 in most places
Peripheral drivers are a work in progress
No power saving modes
No hardware security features or cryptographic accelerator support
Time-of-Flight (TOF) measurements with normal Wi-Fi packets is not supported

Roadmap
ESP-IDF V4.1 will support ESP32-S2beta chip as a preview with some limitations.
ESP-IDF V4.2 will support ESP32-S2 (the previous ESP32-S2beta chip can’t work on V4.2).

However, the caveat here is another document read earlier today online that I can no longer find that explicitly states the converse of the above roadmap is also true. Namely production versions of the ESP32S chip will not function correctly on ESP-IDF V4.1.

So it would seem we have a discrepancy in that many users on the forum and the Matrix WIKI are advocating the use of ESP-IDF V4.1 in the toolchain but at the same time the Flowcode model / chip selection has ESP32S available that according to Espressif will not function correctly if using the 4.1 toolchain. Comments welcome?

BenR