ESP32 not compling to chip

Any bugs you encounter with Flowcode should be discussed here.
LeighM
Valued Contributor
Posts: 401
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by LeighM »

Yes, sorry, we don't have a lot of control over the Espressif toolchain.
Renaming the account might not work because the Espressif installer sets up numerous tools and paths (that might then be broken)

I think Flowcode installs accessible to everyone and might setup the registry for the new user on first run, but Steve will have a better idea on that.

Steve-Matrix
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1269
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 10:32 am
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by Steve-Matrix »

You will not need to reinstall Flowcode for another user on the same PC. However, you will need to reactivate the licence.

Note that due to a bug with the current release of Flowcode, you will need to activate the trial licence for this new user account first. After restarting Flowcode, you will be able to select "my licence" from the Licensing...manage screen.

DAVIDJOINER
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:35 pm
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by DAVIDJOINER »

Hi

1 Created new user with no spaces in Windows 10 ("DAJ")

2 reloaded ESP tool chain

3 Ran FLOWCODE 9 and tried to compile but still not compiling fully

4 Have enclosed compiler msg file again

5 Even removed Flowcode 9 and re installed and still same result

This is getting rather frustrating

David
Attachments
test6.msg.txt
(1.95 KiB) Downloaded 181 times

Steve-Matrix
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1269
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 10:32 am
Has thanked: 168 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by Steve-Matrix »

Hi David,

It's frustrating for us too! To me it looks like there is a problem with the installation of the ESP toolchain, but I'm not an expert - others on this forum should have a better idea. As the toolchain is a 3rd party product with its own installer, it is sometimes difficult for us to offer a solution. But we can try...

I've searched for the error messages you are receiving and I've found these 2 posts:
https://esp32.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=12362
https://github.com/espressif/esp-idf/issues/3879

The first link in particular appears to show the cause. During the install of the ESP toolchain, the environment variables have not been set up correctly. Perhaps this info will help you, or might point others towards the cause so they can offer a solution.

Hope this helps,
Steve.

LeighM
Valued Contributor
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by LeighM »

Yes, I'm thinking similar to Steve.

You might need to try manually adding the paths of esp-idf and esp-idf/tools to the system PATH variable.

Also please check that the PATH variable is not at the 2048 character limit of Windows 10

DAVIDJOINER
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:35 pm
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by DAVIDJOINER »

Hi


1 "Re You might need to try manually adding the paths of esp-idf and esp-idf/tools to the system PATH variable."
How do i actually do this

2. Also please check that the PATH variable is not at the 2048 character limit of Windows 10
How do i actually do this

Have read the links you sent a bit hard to fully grasp but hopefully we are getting closer

but not quite there yet

David

medelec35
Matrix Staff
Posts: 1463
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 473 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by medelec35 »

I have just installed ESP on a fresh windows install.
I have had issues in the complying to target.
The way I got around it was:
1. Install esp-idf-tools-setup-2.3 in Admin mode.
2. Only select python 3.7, even if you have later version already installed.
2. You can use a custom directory to install esp-idf (no spaces within the directory)
, but even though you have a choice for espressif, it must be left as the default C:\.espressif
3. If you have Comodo firewall and it pops up to ask if allow windows application or installer update, always select the latter (epically in the initial compiling stage).
Martin

LeighM
Valued Contributor
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by LeighM »

Thanks!

DAVIDJOINER
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:35 pm
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by DAVIDJOINER »

Hi

Thanks medelec for your input

I have tried what worked for you but unfortunately does not solve the problem on my comuter

Have enclosed the message file after installing as you suggested

The clue must be in there somewhere but its beyond me


DAVID
Attachments
test6.msg.txt
(1.94 KiB) Downloaded 177 times

LeighM
Valued Contributor
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: ESP32 not compling to chip

Post by LeighM »

Comparing with my installations, might be worth trying this ...
  • Via Windows settings->Apps & Features, Un-install ESP-IDF tools, Git, Python
    Use or create a Windows User with name with no spaces, (also try with Admin rights)
    Re-install with esp-idf-tools-setup-2.3.exe (using suggested default options)
    • Install Python 3.7
      Install Git 2.21.0
      Download ESP-IDF, v4.1, to default directory (e.g. C:\Users\yourname\Desktop\esp-idf)
      Install ESP-IDF tools to default (e.g. C:\Users\yourname\.espressif)
      Select Additional Tasks (tick all)
    In Flowcode->Global Settings->locations
    • Set ESP to C:\Users\yourname\Desktop\esp-idf\
If still have problems, any anti-virus running? Can this be disabled?

Post Reply