GPS not send LAT_LONG

Any bugs you encounter with Flowcode should be discussed here.
ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

Good morning Jorgen,

I just did the test with the flowchart that you sent me, I only configured pic16f1939, which is from the same family, it sends the time, but the coordinates are not sent; I am going to continue testing with different values in the buffer, to see if I can get it to send the coordinates, the strange thing is that if it connects to the satellite from the moment it sends the time, right now the circuit has been connected for 30 minutes and it does not send LAT, The Hora sent it in 3 minutes after I connected it.

I will keep information on what happens.

Enrique
Thanks !!!
Attachments
lat_h.jpg
lat_h.jpg (90.33 KiB) Viewed 889 times

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Flowcode v10 Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

now change the buffer to 30
Attachments
config.jpg
config.jpg (64.43 KiB) Viewed 889 times
buff30.jpg
buff30.jpg (45.4 KiB) Viewed 889 times

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Flowcode v10 Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

now change the buffer to 100; GPS is still connected, send time, not LAT
Attachments
CONFIG_100.jpg
CONFIG_100.jpg (51.51 KiB) Viewed 886 times
BUFFER_100.jpg
BUFFER_100.jpg (41.9 KiB) Viewed 886 times

jgu1
Posts: 622
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:25 pm
Location: Denmark
Has thanked: 511 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by jgu1 »

Mine is set to 50 and I see all data in display after max. 3 min. :?:

chipfryer27
Valued Contributor
Posts: 1203
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:57 am
Has thanked: 291 times
Been thanked: 424 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by chipfryer27 »

Hi

I might have one somewhere to try. If I find it I'll see what I get but I think it was a cheap module so ended up in a drawer as it was not very good.

Meanwhile, do you have a USB-TTL serial converter?

If so, you could connect the Rx terminal of the converter to the UART Rx pin, open up a Terminal program on your PC and monitor what is being received by your chip from the GPS module. It may help establish where the issue lies (or indeed just connect GPS to PC). I think it dumps a lot of data though.

How is the GPS module powered? Sometimes breadboards cause issues so if possible power straight to supply. I also assume you are beside a window or such like as GPS signals aren't too good at penetrating walls / roofs and the module I have/ had needed all the help it could get :)

Regards

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

The confusing thing is that from the moment the GPS receives the Time it is connected to a satellite and receives a signal; however not the coordinates

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

I have set up GPS for the car, they are working; The applied voltage is 3.3v, the connections are correct, I have tested 3 new and used GPS that were working, in fact, receiving the time means that the reception is fine. I don't know what it could be, I have never struggled with the coordinates, I have also tried with several PCBs and in all of them the time is sent correctly, but LAT and LONG are not sent

Enrique
Attachments
GPS's.jpg
GPS's.jpg (146.79 KiB) Viewed 883 times

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

The only thing in common is that I changed to a MINI PC, which is the one I am programming with, at home I have the Laptop that I used before.

LeighM
Valued Contributor
Posts: 401
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:00 pm
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 218 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by LeighM »

As chipfryer27 says, I would suspect the issues are due to weak received signal strength. Time reception does not require sight of multiple satellites, position does. Can you run the setup outside, or near a window?

ELECTRONICA67
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 3:59 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: GPS not send LAT_LONG

Post by ELECTRONICA67 »

Yeah. . It is configured the same in the program you sent me, but it only gives me the time correctly, it does not send me the LAT in the same 3 min

Post Reply