Hi Ben
There is a small Display with a SSD1306 controller
and a Flowcode component SSD1306 I2C
Unfortunately I cannot change the I2C address to 0x3C.
would it be possible to adapt the components with this address?
regards
Stefan
Communication Protocols: I2C
IC: SSD1306
I2C Address: 0x3C
Dimensions: 50.3 x 15.1mm
Infos:
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/17153
Component propertis:
Adapter Groove to Stemma cable available for little money....:
SSD1306 component add an address
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 909
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:53 am
- Has thanked: 181 times
- Been thanked: 208 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1665
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 581 times
- Been thanked: 556 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
Hi Stefan.
0x3C is bit shifted 0x78 (0).
Can you see if that works for the display?
You could confirm the address with I2C address scanner
0x3C is bit shifted 0x78 (0).
Can you see if that works for the display?
You could confirm the address with I2C address scanner
Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 909
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:53 am
- Has thanked: 181 times
- Been thanked: 208 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
Hi Martin
I can see the bit shifted but it's not working if I use address 0x78.
Before i tested an another big display (old) with 0x78 and this is working.
I can see the bit shifted but it's not working if I use address 0x78.
Before i tested an another big display (old) with 0x78 and this is working.
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 909
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:53 am
- Has thanked: 181 times
- Been thanked: 208 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
Yes, but what does this mean?
The new Display has the same address 0x78 but an another reason why it's dark?
The new Display has the same address 0x78 but an another reason why it's dark?
- Attachments
-
- Snag_b40dc8c.png (38.82 KiB) Viewed 7148 times
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1665
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 581 times
- Been thanked: 556 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
hi Stefan.
That does suggest that 0x78 selected for the display is correct.
Within initialise routine this is used for the address:
Since Address is 0x78 then 0x78>>1 = 0x78/2 = 0x3C
Therefore, adding different addresses won't work.
Have you tried in software mode?
Although you did state an older display does work, which suggests I2C is working OK.
That does suggest that 0x78 selected for the display is correct.
Within initialise routine this is used for the address:
Code: Select all
Address >> 1
Therefore, adding different addresses won't work.
Have you tried in software mode?
Although you did state an older display does work, which suggests I2C is working OK.
Martin
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 909
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:53 am
- Has thanked: 181 times
- Been thanked: 208 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
Hi Martin
Yes I agree :Therefore, adding different addresses won't work.
I'll see if I can organize another type display with the SSD1306
controller and a second display from sparkfun
maybe the other display will work soon...
https://flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2267
strange the display that works has a different controller(not a SSD1306) but i can read the text.
https://wiki.seeedstudio.com/Grove-OLED ... _1.12inch/
SSD1327 to SH1107G
Yes I agree :Therefore, adding different addresses won't work.
I'll see if I can organize another type display with the SSD1306
controller and a second display from sparkfun
maybe the other display will work soon...
https://flowcode.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2267
strange the display that works has a different controller(not a SSD1306) but i can read the text.
https://wiki.seeedstudio.com/Grove-OLED ... _1.12inch/
SSD1327 to SH1107G
-
- Valued Contributor
- Posts: 909
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 10:53 am
- Has thanked: 181 times
- Been thanked: 208 times
Re: SSD1306 component add an address
Hi Martin
I have tried to connect the display again.
The red Sparkfun display now works perfectly.
The display is very sharp and bright. Only on my photo the led are not.
Shows the charge % from an accu:
I have tried to connect the display again.
The red Sparkfun display now works perfectly.
The display is very sharp and bright. Only on my photo the led are not.
Shows the charge % from an accu: