Hello Ben,
I would like to use the Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1. Flowcode supports the MCP4551 potentiometer, which is the same but does not support high voltage. The fixed addresses are different. Does the MCP45XX component also work with these potentiometers, or are other addresses sent via I2C?
Thank you for your help
Dirk
Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
-
- Posts: 72
- http://meble-kuchenne.info.pl
- Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 3:55 pm
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 4 times
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
Hi Ben,
it does not work with the componente MCP45XX. Can I edit this component so that it also works with the MCP45HVX? I need these pots with high voltage support. This is even more important for me than the support of the Digi Pot AD5280 / 5282. I discovered the MCP45HVX later.
Thank you very much
Dirk
it does not work with the componente MCP45XX. Can I edit this component so that it also works with the MCP45HVX? I need these pots with high voltage support. This is even more important for me than the support of the Digi Pot AD5280 / 5282. I discovered the MCP45HVX later.
Thank you very much
Dirk
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
Hello Ben,
I have found out. You have to edit the component MCP45XX and change the address from 0x28 to 0x38 during initialisation. The MPC45HVX also only has 256, not 257 steps, but has two hardware addresses. Please bear this in mind. Then the new component should only contain one potentiometer. The chip is not available with two potentiometers. That's all and it works perfectly.
thanks
Dirk
I have found out. You have to edit the component MCP45XX and change the address from 0x28 to 0x38 during initialisation. The MPC45HVX also only has 256, not 257 steps, but has two hardware addresses. Please bear this in mind. Then the new component should only contain one potentiometer. The chip is not available with two potentiometers. That's all and it works perfectly.
thanks
Dirk
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
Hello,
I have edited the original MCP45XX and saved it as MCP45HVX1. Only the address of the initialisation had to be changed. However, I have to delete the original component, otherwise it won't work. What do I have to enter so that I have two components? Also, there must be 257 steps, not 256 steps and only 1 device. What am I doing wrong?
I have edited the original MCP45XX and saved it as MCP45HVX1. Only the address of the initialisation had to be changed. However, I have to delete the original component, otherwise it won't work. What do I have to enter so that I have two components? Also, there must be 257 steps, not 256 steps and only 1 device. What am I doing wrong?
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1665
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 581 times
- Been thanked: 556 times
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
Hi Dirk
Sorry for the delay.
I have added the MCP45HVX1 component to the MCP45XX MCP46XX component.
In future if you want to modify components, you will need to select
File > Export > Edit the exported settings for your component > Setup tab > Advanced > Edit.
Next to GUID characters Click New, so the a69bf9b3-272e-44b3-a47d-22f53c3c0804 will change ,then select OK
If the fixed address was 0x38 then it would be 01110 instead of 01111, unless the datasheet is wrong?
Anyway, I will try as per datasheet, and if that does not work I will change the address to 0x38 instead.
I have not got a digital pot to tst with, so can you let me know if it works or not please?
If it does the it will be added to the component database.
Browse to this location using file explorer , it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar.
Place the attached component.
If Flowcode is already open, then you will need to reload your project for the new component to work
If you run any component updates, then the component you added will be overwritten, so it will stop working again (unless the component update has been pushed).
Sorry for the delay.
I have added the MCP45HVX1 component to the MCP45XX MCP46XX component.
In future if you want to modify components, you will need to select
File > Export > Edit the exported settings for your component > Setup tab > Advanced > Edit.
Next to GUID characters Click New, so the a69bf9b3-272e-44b3-a47d-22f53c3c0804 will change ,then select OK
The datasheet for MCP45HVX1 shows: Therefore the fixed address should 0x3C and not 0x38
If the fixed address was 0x38 then it would be 01110 instead of 01111, unless the datasheet is wrong?
Anyway, I will try as per datasheet, and if that does not work I will change the address to 0x38 instead.
I have not got a digital pot to tst with, so can you let me know if it works or not please?
If it does the it will be added to the component database.
Browse to this location using file explorer , it's hidden by default so just paste the link into your address bar.
Code: Select all
%ProgramData%\MatrixTSL\FlowcodeV10\Components
If Flowcode is already open, then you will need to reload your project for the new component to work
If you run any component updates, then the component you added will be overwritten, so it will stop working again (unless the component update has been pushed).
- Attachments
-
- MCP45XX.fcpx
- (5.65 KiB) Downloaded 85 times
Martin
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
It must be address 38, as the original MCP45XX MCP46XX component has 1 more variable address, bit 3 with the value 4. 0x38 + 4 = 0x3C. I therefore always had to set address bit 3. Then the addressing was correct. Of course it was just a workaround and worked well. Now it is as it should be!
Many thanks for this.
Dirk
Many thanks for this.
Dirk
-
- Matrix Staff
- Posts: 1665
- Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:07 pm
- Has thanked: 581 times
- Been thanked: 556 times
Re: Component Digi-Pot MCP45HVX1
That's great!
Thank you, I will get it pushed.
I have now got a 18F15Q41 micro to test with.
A lot of the registers are different microcontrollers, so will take a bit longer than planned.
I/0s are working, now working on the interrupts.
pin interrupts are completed, just require testing.
Timer0 interrupt is working well.
Hopefully wont be too long now.
Thank you, I will get it pushed.
I have now got a 18F15Q41 micro to test with.
A lot of the registers are different microcontrollers, so will take a bit longer than planned.
I/0s are working, now working on the interrupts.
pin interrupts are completed, just require testing.
Timer0 interrupt is working well.
Hopefully wont be too long now.
Martin